Using the Preview feature in SharePoint Online document libraries

When you’re in SharePoint Online, opening up files can often cause new version history entries to be made based on how things are set up. This can be a major issue if people have alerts set to notify them if anything changes! To prevent that, you can use the Preview feature to quickly open the file without causing any version history changes. Here’s how that works…

Getting notified when you do a “mass deletion” in SharePoint Online or OneDrive

It’s a nightmare of mine… someone pings me and says that hundreds of files are missing from a document library, and they’re not in the recycle bin either. If you’re lucky, you figure out who deleted the files, and often they didn’t realize they did that. Now in SharePoint Online and OneDrive, Microsoft will notify you via email if you’ve done a “mass deletion” of data. Here’s what happens…